RSS Feed

the pilots (soon to be) wife

Posted on

20120109-220356.jpg

My fiancé is back from another five-day trip on Friday and thank goodness. I don’t think I could handle another day of dealing with my OCD dogs and this incessant rain. Stop. Reverse. Maybe it would help if I backed up and explained myself.

Hi! I am currently engaged to the most wonderful man I know, and my best friend. The thing is, he is an airline pilot, a very junior first officer who is based in Detroit and who is gone A LOT. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t change a single thing about my life, but having a significant other who is gone for the majority of the month is hard. HARD! When he is gone, I feel like a hot mess, running around with my head cut off trying to deal with my two OCD Labrador’s, keeping my house clean, motivating myself to eat a normal dinner every night (no Sarah, popcorn doesn’t count), keep in shape, plan my wedding, pay the bills, deal with homeowner woes, work 9 to 5 in a corporate setting, look like I live a perfect life and keep sane! Did I mention that I am only 24? Good thing I don’t have kids….

I know this sounds like I am complaining and you are probably saying “what is so special about this chick? My life is just as chaotic and I’ve seen other aviation blogs”. Well, here’s my thing – I wanted a way to record my trials and tribulations as a ‘soon to be’ pilot’s wife. The good, the bad, the ugly. This isn’t a self-help, how to cope blog. This is a ‘what the hell was I thinking when I cooked that’, ‘why did I stress about that’, ‘why didn’t I think of that’ blog. I want to share the best and worst with whoever will listen. Inspirations and dislikes, words of wisdom.  Someday, when I am older and wiser, I’ll be able to look back at this and laugh. It will all seem so trivial.

Leave a Reply

